Deadline Extended For Sexual Harassment Prevention Training

| posted in Blog

Recent legislation signed by Governor Gavin Newsom on Aug 30, 2019 extends the deadline for the California state-mandated Sexual Harassment Prevention Training, but what exactly does that mean for employers? SB 778 changes the compliance due date for some parts of SB 1343 we talked about previously, but not all of it. We’re digging into the details of the new changes so you can make any necessary changes to the training timeline for your company. Deadline Extended For Sexual Harassment Prevention Training The basics of CA SB 1343 Before we get into the changes, a quick recap on what the…
Read More

Top 10 Laws and Regulations for 2019

| posted in Blog, Newsletter

  Every year comes with new laws and regulations that affect employers. It pays to stay on top of all the new requirements, so we are here to help you understand those that are most likely to affect your business. The following are the top 10 laws, regulations and trends that you need to know about going into 2019. 1.     Sexual harassment training Since 2005, California law has required employers having 50 or more employees to provide at least two hours of sexual harassment training to supervisors every two years. SB 1343 changes this by requiring employers with five or more employees…
Read More

Top 10 Laws, Regulations and Trends for 2018

| posted in Blog, Newsletter

In this article, we focus on the top 10 laws, regulations and trends going into 2018 that employers need to be aware of. New Parent Leave Act Effective Jan. 1, 2018, employers in California with 20 or more workers will be required to provide eligible employees with 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to bond with a new child. This builds on a 20-year-old law that required only employers with 50 or more staff to provide employees with time off for child bonding. Like the current law, the New Parent Leave Act applies to newborns or a child placed with…
Read More